How can I remove recordings and data from the TrackLab database?
Last updated: Aug 24, 2026
You may wish to remove recordings from TrackLab if the system is getting slow, if the recordings were only created for test purposes and are no longer needed, or if there is a problem analyzing them.
In some cases if TrackLab was closed improperly, you may have recordings that never analyzed properly, and these can interfere with deleting recordings.
In all cases when removing data, it's advisable to start by creating a backup of the data. If you have the above issue, you might not be able to do so with the project open. Follow these steps to make a backup even if you have that issue:
- Open TrackLab but don't select your project. (In fact, you don't even need to log in, but if you are set to log in automatically that's OK.)
- Click the menu button in the upper right (with three parallel horizontal lines), then pick Data Management.
- TrackLab will tell you that you will be logged out, which is fine. You may need the administrative password for the PC. It will do some preparation, stop the services and process, and after a delay should tell you "Datamanagement prepared successfully."
- Click the Create Backup button.
- You should get a message that this was successful (after a delay). Click Close to close that window (this may also take a little time to complete).
To remove recordings, without opening your project:
You're now logged out of TrackLab. Log back in and open your project. It may still need to recover analysis data if there were previously any issues, but if you've removed any problem sessions it should complete the process.
If you removed sessions in order to resolve an analysis issue, it's a good idea to make another backup at this point.