Will deactivating the license on the old computer delete experiments or projects saved on that machine
Last updated: Aug 24, 2026
FAQ and Step-by-Step Instructions
Will my EthoVision XT experiments be deleted when I deactivate my license on the current PC?
- No. Deactivating the license only removes the permission to run EthoVision XT. It does not delete experiments or transfer them; your data remains on the old PC.
How do I move my EthoVision XT license to a new computer?
- On the old PC, open EthoVision XT’s Help menu, and chose the option to deactivate the software license.
- Download and install EthoVision XT on the new PC.
- Launch EthoVision XT on the new PC and activate the license using your software activation code (license number).
- If needed, copy your experiment project folders from the old PC to the new PC via an external drive or network share.
- The old PC can still open and analyze experiment data without an active license for post-acquisition analysis.
How do I back up my experiment data?
- Copy your complete experiment project folder to an external drive or network share. Be sure that all contents are copied and move over successfully when doing so.
- Alternatively, create a Project Backup by going to the File menu and choosing ‘Make a Backup…’. This will create a zipped .EVZ file that makes the project easier to move. Note, the backup file needs to be restored before being able to access the experiment again.
Can I run EthoVision XT on multiple computers simultaneously with one software-based license?
- Unless your software-based license includes multiple seats, an access code would be considered single-use. You must deactivate it on one computer before activating it on another. Only one active instance is permitted at a time.